Being As An Ocean - How We Both Wondrously Perish

Being As An Ocean

- How We Both Wondrously Perish -


  • 01 Mediocre Shakespeare
  • 02 Death's Great Black Wing Scrapes The Air
  • 03 L'equisite douleur
  • 04 How We Both Wondrously Perish
  • 05 The Poets Cry For More
  • 06 We Drag The Dead On Leashes
  • 07 Even The Dead Have Their Tasks
  • 08 Grace, Teach Us What We Lack
  • 09 Mothers
  • 10 Natures

Release Dates

  • May 9th, 2014 (G/A/S, Sweden, Finland)
  • May 12th, 2014 (United Kingdom, Rest of Europe)




Stefan Lüdicke - [email protected]

About Being As An Ocean

Named after a quote by Mahatma Gandhi, BEING AS AN OCEAN kicked off in 2011. What impresses about their songs right from the beginning: the thoughtful and profound lyrics of singer Joel Quartuccio. Together with the fundamental “emotional intelligence” of the music these Californians play, all of their songs gain insistent effects. Whether you call it screamo, post hardcore, modern hardcore, or metalcore: bands second album “How We Both Wondrously Perish” brings together wholehearted dedication and pure zeal. Doing so,BEING AS AN OCEAN create a unique sound of their own, which is truly worth being listened, and which will impress.

And there is so much variation about the songs. Some are feisty and speedy – at least partly. Most of them stimulate the listeners with raw emotions and intensive melodies. “How We Both Wondrously Perish” introduces new drummer Connor Denis (ex-Sleep Patterns), and new guitarist Michael McGough (The Elijah), which both fit in very well. Following the path of debut album “Dear G-d....” (2012) - which will be to find as an exclusive bonus in limited digipak edition of “How We Both Wondrously Perish”, BEING AS AN OCEAN’s second album pursues the goal to catch the heart of everyone listening to its songs. In between reflected maturity, black despair, and trust in a better future the Californians transfer their deepest thoughts and feelings into passionate music. It’s all about emotion: BEING AS AN OCEAN!

Band members

  • Joel Quartuccio - Vocals
  • Tyler Ross - Guitar
  • Raplh Sica - Bass
  • Michael McGough - Guitar
  • Connor Denis - Drums